



OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL

E-mail: <u>hrcpresidency1@ohchr.org</u>, Tel: +41 (0)22 917 18 83 / 0765662596 Fax: +41 (0)22 917 04 90

### HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL

3 March 2008

Excellency,

£

I have the honor to submit to your attention the List of candidates for Special procedures mandate holders according to the OP 52 of the Institutional building package.

I use this occasion to recall that according to the Resolution 5/1, OP53: "If necessary, the President will conduct further consultations to ensure the endorsement of the proposed candidates. The appointment of the special procedures mandate-holders will be completed upon the subsequent approval of the Council. Mandate-holders shall be appointed before the end of the session".

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Doru Romulus Costea President of the Human Rights Council

Annex: ment.

All Permanent Representatives to the United Nations in Geneva

. . . . . . .

-----

(published on the Extranet)

### List of candidates for Special procedures mandate holders

## Special Rapporteur on the right to adequate housing as a component of the right to an adequate standard of living, and on the right to non-discrimination in this context

Ms. Raquel Rolnik (Brazil)

Special Rapporteur on the right to food

Mr. Olivier de Schutter (Belgium)

# Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights and fundamental freedoms of indigenous people

Mr. James Anaya (United States of America)

Special Rapporteur on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography

Ms. Najat M'jid Maala (Morocco)

Independent Expert on the effects of economic reform policies and foreign debt on the full enjoyment of human rights, particularly economic, social and cultural rights

Mr. Cephas Lumina (Zambia)

Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Myanmar

Mr. Tomas Ojea Quintana (Argentina)

### Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the Palestinian territories occupied since 1967

Mr. Richard Falk (United States of America)

### Independent Expert on the question of human rights and extreme poverty

Ms. Maria Magdalena Sepulveda (Chile)

## Special Rapporteur on contemporary forms of slavery, including its causes and consequences

Ms. Gulnara Shahinian (Armenia)

### **Working Group on Arbitrary Detention**

Mr. Michel Mahouve (Cameroun)

Mr. Aslan Abashidze (Russia)

Mr. Roberto Garreton (Chile)

### Working Group on Enforced or Involuntary Disappearances

Mr. Jeremy Sarkin (South Africa)

### Working Group on African Descent

Mr. Milton Nettleford (Jamaica)

\_\_\_\_\_

# Independent Expert appointed by the Secretary – General on the situation of human rights in Somalia

and

# Special Representative of the Secretary – General on the situation of human rights defenders

The mandate holders on these positions were appointed in the past by the Secretary–General in conformity with relevant resolutions of the Commission on Human Rights. At the same time, Council resolution 5/1 stipulates that the review, rationalization and improvement (RRI) of each mandate would take place in the context of the negotiations of the relevant resolutions. It is therefore understood that a decision on the mandate holders will be made depending of the RRI process of each of these mandates.

At the same time, it has been noted that of the fact that the Consultative group suggested in its recommendations the following persons for these two mandates:

Mr. Shamsul Bari (Bangladesh), Mr. Francesc Venderell (Spain) and Mr. Michel Frost (France) for the first mandate above

and

Ms. Nelsa Curbelo (Ecuador) and Ms. Mirjana Najcevska (The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) for the second mandate above

At the same time, a wish was expressed that Ms. Margaret Sekaggya (Uganda) be considered for this position.